The academic calendar of Washington University in St. Louis is designed to provide an optimal amount of classroom instruction and examination within a manageable time frame, facilitating our educational mission to promote learning among both students and faculty. Individual schools, particularly our graduate and professional schools, may have varying calendars due to the nature of particular fields of study. Please refer to each school’s website for more information.

Fall Semester 2018

Date Day Description
August 27 Monday Classes begin
September 3 Monday Labor Day holiday
October 13-16 Saturday-Tuesday Fall Break
November 21-25 Wednesday-Sunday Thanksgiving Break
December 7 Friday Last day of classes
December 10-19 Monday-Wednesday Reading and Exams

Spring Semester 2019

Date Day Description
January 14 Monday Classes begin
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. holiday
March 10-16 Sunday-Saturday Spring Break
April 26 Friday Last day of classes
April 29 - May 8 Monday-Wednesday Reading and Exams
May 17 Friday Commencement

Summer Semester 2019

Date Day Description
May 20 Monday First Summer Session begins
May 27 Monday Memorial Day holiday
July 4 Thursday Independence Day holiday
August 15 Thursday Last Summer Session ends

Washington University recognizes the individual student’s choice in observing religious holidays that occur during periods when classes are scheduled. Students are encouraged to arrange with their instructors to make up work missed as a result of religious observance, and instructors are asked to make every reasonable effort to accommodate such requests.