The academic calendar of Washington University in St. Louis is designed to provide an optimal amount of classroom instruction and examination within a manageable time frame, facilitating our educational mission to promote learning among both students and faculty. Individual schools — particularly our graduate and professional schools — may have varying calendars due to the nature of particular fields of study. Please refer to each school’s website for more information.

Fall Semester 2020

College of Arts & Sciences, McKelvey School of Engineering, Olin Business School, Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, and University College

Date Day Description
September 14 Monday First day of classes
November 26-27 Thursday-Friday Thanksgiving break (no classes)
December 18 Friday Last day of classes
January 4-10, 2021 Monday-Sunday Final exams (remote)

Brown School at Washington University

Date Day Description
August 24 Monday First day of classes
September 7 Monday Labor Day holiday
November 26-27 Thursday-Friday Thanksgiving break (no classes)
December 16 Wednesday Last day of classes

Washington University Law

Date Day Description
August 24 Monday First day of classes
September 7 Monday Labor Day holiday
November 20 Friday Last day of classes
November 30-December 11 Monday-Friday Final exams (remote)

Spring Semester 2021

College of Arts & Sciences, McKelvey School of Engineering, Olin Business School, Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, and University College

Date Day Description
January 25 Monday First day of classes
March 15-19 Monday-Friday Spring break (no classes)
May 6 Thursday Last day of classes
May 7-13 Friday-Thursday Final exams

Brown School at Washington University

Date Day Description
January 19 Tuesday First day of classes
March 15-19 Monday-Friday Spring break (no classes)
May 12 Wednesday Last day of classes

Washington University Law

Date Day Description
January 19 Tuesday First day of classes
March 15-19 Monday-Friday Spring break (no classes)
April 23 Friday Last day of classes
April 26-May 7 Monday-Friday Final exams

Commencement Ceremonies

Date Day Description
May 21 Friday Class of 2021 Commencement
May 30 Sunday Class of 2020 Commencement

Summer Semester 2021

Date Day Description
May 24 Monday First Summer Session begins
May 31 Monday Memorial Day holiday
July 5 Monday Independence Day holiday
August 19 Thursday Last Summer Session ends

Washington University recognizes the individual student’s choice in observing religious holidays that occur during periods when classes are scheduled. Students are encouraged to arrange with their instructors to make up work missed as a result of religious observance, and instructors are asked to make every reasonable effort to accommodate such requests.