Academic Calendar

The academic calendar of Washington University in St. Louis is designed to provide an optimal amount of classroom instruction and examination within a manageable time frame, facilitating our educational mission to promote learning among both students and faculty. Individual schools — particularly our graduate and professional schools — may have varying calendars due to the nature of particular fields of study. Please refer to each school’s website for more information.

Fall Semester 2022

College of Arts & Sciences, McKelvey School of Engineering, Olin Business School, Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, and University College

Date Day Description
August 29 Monday First day of classes
September 5 Monday Labor Day (no classes)
October 8-11 Saturday-Tuesday Fall Break (no classes)
November 23-27 Wednesday-Sunday Thanksgiving Break (no classes)
December 9 Friday Last day of classes
December 12-21 Monday-Wednesday Reading and finals

Spring Semester 2023

College of Arts & Sciences, McKelvey School of Engineering, Olin Business School, Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, and University College

Date Day Description
January 17 Tuesday First day of classes
March 12-18 Sunday-Saturday Spring Break (no classes)
April 28 Friday Last day of classes
May 1-10 Monday-Wednesday Reading and finals

Commencement Ceremonies

Date Day Description
May 15 Monday Class of 2023 Commencement

Summer Semester 2023

Date Day Description
May 22 Monday First Summer Session begins
May 29 Monday Memorial Day (no classes)
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day (no classes)
August 17 Thursday Last Summer Session ends

Washington University recognizes the individual student’s choice in observing religious holidays that occur during periods when classes are scheduled. Students are encouraged to arrange with their instructors to make up work missed as a result of religious observance, and instructors are asked to make every reasonable effort to accommodate such requests.