Photo of the Quad

The Graduate School confers all Master of Arts (AM) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees at Washington University. Every AM program and 29 PhD programs are housed in Arts & Sciences departments. In addition, the Graduate School cooperates with the schools of Business, Engineering & Applied Science, Medicine, and Social Work on the administration of 27 PhD programs housed in those schools.


The Graduate Council serves as the legislative branch of the Graduate School. The Council consists of one faculty representative and one graduate student representative from each degree-granting program; it is chaired by the dean of the Graduate School and vice provost for graduate education. Much of the work of the Council occurs in committees, on which students serve alongside faculty members. This model of shared governance — equal representation and equal responsibility for faculty and graduate students — is believed to be unique among U.S. universities.

Contact Information

The Graduate School
Cupples II, Suite 204
Washington University in St. Louis
CB 1187
One Brookings Drive
St. Louis, MO 63130-4899
Fax: 314-935-4887