The Writing program offers a Master of Fine Arts (MFA) in Writing in three genres: creative nonfiction, fiction and poetry. Applicants must apply to each genre separately and will be enrolled in only one. However, through themed craft courses, MFA students may take courses with faculty and students in other genres. The MFA in Writing is a two-year program.

The Writing program, which is ranked ninth in the country by Poets & Writers, is highly selective, enrolling 10 to 15 students each year. There is a low faculty-to-student ratio, with writing courses generally capped at 12 students. MFA students are generously funded, with all incoming students receiving full tuition scholarships plus university fellowships. Our faculty includes Guggenheim Fellows, National Book Award finalists, and winners of the National Book Critics Circle Award. Graduates of our program have won the PEN/Hemingway Award and the Drue Heinz Literature Prize, among other honors.
Each year, our reading series brings a diverse group of poets, fiction writers and nonfiction writers to the department. In addition, the Hurst Professor program brings in six distinguished visitors each year to present their newest work, lecture on the craft of writing, and work one-on-one with our MFA students. Edward P. Jones, Frank Bidart, Joy Williams, Jorie Graham, Aleksandar Hemon, Lucie Brock Broido, George Saunders, Louise Glück, Kelly Link, C.D. Wright, Richard Powers, Claudia Rankine, Deborah Eisenberg, Paul Muldoon, Charles Baxter, Timothy Donnelly and Lydia Davis are just some of our recent visiting Hurst Professors.

Contact Info

Contact:Shannon Rabong