Department of Radiation Oncology

The Department of Radiation Oncology was created in 2001, after having been part of the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology for many decades. The department has a broad academic program that focuses on excellence in patient care and the development of new treatment paradigms; innovative research in each of our three divisions: Clinical, Medical Physics and Cancer Biology; and teaching graduate students, medical students, residents in both radiation oncology and medical physics, and allied health personnel.

The department is one of the largest, most academically balanced, and best equipped in the country, and it is responsible for all radiation therapy procedures at Washington University Medical Center and at Siteman Cancer Center facilities throughout the St. Louis regional area. Our faculty have gained international recognition for innovative technological advances in physics and treatment planning, biological research, computer applications and clinical investigation.

We have advanced treatment planning computer systems for 3D conformal and intensity-modulated radiation therapy as well as the latest Gamma Knife, the ICON unit. We have six linear accelerators with on-board CT imaging capability. The brachytherapy suite includes capabilities for high dose rate remote after-loading and for image-guided permanent prostate seed implants. Interstitial and external hyperthermia treatments are also available.

The Department of Radiation Oncology offers the following formal educational programs:

  • Clinical Residency Training Program (4 years), ACGME-accredited; established 1971
  • Medical Physics Residency Training Program (2 years), CAMPEP-accredited; established 1993
  • Post-PhD Graduate Certificate in Medical Physics (1-2 years), CAMPEP-accredited; established 2017
  • Master of Science (MS) in Medical Physics (2 years), CAMPEP-accredited; established 2020
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Medical Physics (2-5 years); established 2022

Contact Info